BIAL Award in Biomedicine 2021 Ceremony

The BIAL Award in Biomedicine 2021 ceremony took place on February 18th 2022 at the Rectory of the University of Lisbon, and it was chaired by His Excellency the President of the Republic, Marcelo Rebelo de Sousa.

The Winner

A research work on mRNA technology, which is used in the Pfizer-BioNTech and Moderna vaccines to prevent COVID-19, won the second edition of the BIAL Award in Biomedicine. The winning team was led by American scientist Drew Weissman.

Winning Paper: “Zika virus protection by a single low-dose nucleoside-modified mRNA vaccination”

Authors | Corresponding authors*:  Norbert Pardi, Michael J. Hogan, Rebecca S. Pelc, Hiromi Muramatsu, Hanne Andersen, Christina R. DeMaso, Kimberly A. Dowd, Laura L. Sutherland, Richard M. Scearce, Robert Parks, Wendeline Wagner, Alex Granados, Jack Greenhouse, Michelle Walker, Elinor Willis, Jae-Sung Yu, Charles E. McGee, Gregory D. Sempowski, Barbara L. Mui, Ying K. Tam, Yan-Jang Huang, Dana Vanlandingham, Veronica M. Holmes, Harikrishnan Balachandran, Sujata Sahu, Michelle Lifton, Stephen Higgs, Scott E. Hensley, Thomas D. Madden, Michael J. Hope, Katalin Karikó, Sampa Santra, Barney S. Graham, Mark G. Lewis, Theodore C. Pierson, Barton F. Haynes & Drew Weissman*

Published: Nature, Volume 543, P248–251, February, 2017.

BIAL Award in Biomedicine 2021


Ralph Adolphs


European Research Council
Geneviève Almouzni
Paola Bovolenta

Council of Rectors of Portuguese Universities
Maria do Carmo Fonseca
Fátima Carneiro

European Medical Association
Vincenzo Costigliola
Olga Golubnitschaja

Scientific Board of the BIAL Foundation
Hugo Critchley
Menno Witter

Previous winners of the BIAL Award
Peter St. George-Hyslop
Daniel Pipeleers

Scientific Journals
Howard Bauchner - JAMA
Eric Rubin - NEJM

Nominations received:

Learn more about the winning work of the BIAL Award in Biomedicine 2021 and watch the Award Ceremony.